• Instruction Permit FAQs

     

     

    MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
    DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES
    445 Minnesota St., Saint Paul, MN 55101
    Phone: (651) 297-3298 TTY: (651) 282-6555
    Fax: (651) 797-1120
    dvs.dps.mn.gov


    Driver Services Class D Instruction Permit FAQs

    At what age can a person obtain a Class D Instruction Permit to practice driving?
    • Must be at least 15 years of age
    • If between ages 15-18, must have completed the appropriate amount of classroom instruction and be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction

    What testing is required?
    • Must pass Class D knowledge test
    • Must pass vision screening

    Where can I take the Class D knowledge test?
    • There are 95 driver exam stations located across the state. Refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov

    What do I need to bring for the knowledge test?
    • Identification documents (refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov or the driver’s manual for a list of acceptable documents)
    • Proof of completing driver education if under age 18
    • If you fail two consecutive tests, a $10 fee will be charged for each subsequent knowledge test

    Where do I make application for the Instruction Permit?
    • There are 14 exam stations that accept applications and 127 Driver’s License Agent offices. Refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov

    What do I need to bring when making application for the Instruction Permit?
    • Proof of passing the Class D knowledge test
    • Identification documents (refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov or the driver’s manual for a list of acceptable documents)
    • Corrective lenses (if needed)
    • Parent or legal guardian, if under the age of 18. If they are not available at time of application, need their notarized signature on the application.
    • Appropriate fee

    How long do I need to have an Instruction Permit?
    • If you are 18 and under, you must practice driving with a licensed adult driver for at least six months before a driving test can be taken
    o You must complete behind the wheel instruction and be age 16 to take the road test. Exceptions are for farm work and medical licenses
    • If you are 19 or older, you must practice driving with an adult licensed driver for at least three months before taking a driving test

    What if I am under age 18 and have an Instruction Permit from another state?
    If applying for a Minnesota Instruction Permit:
    • Must meet ID requirements
    • Present out of state Instruction Permit
    • Pass Class D knowledge test
    • Fill out application
    • Parent/legal guardian signature
    • Pay Instruction Permit fee
    If applying for a Minnesota Driver’s License and using Instruction Permit time from another state:
    • At the time of the road test, you must present a certified copy of your driving record from your previous state showing you had valid driving privileges the last six months
    • Present proof of having driver’s training equivalent to Minnesota’s requirements of 30 hours classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel
    • Documentation of passing the road test
    • Fill out application
    • Parent/legal guardian signature
    • Pay Driver’s License fee

    What if I am under age 15 and I have an Instruction Permit from another state?
    • Minnesota law does not allow a person under the age of 15 to drive

    Comments (-1)